Review: Lush No Drought Dry Shampoo

115g

Lush UK: £6.50

Lush US: $12.95

Lush DE: 12,35 €

https://www.lush.co.uk/product/5669/No-Drought-Dry-Shampoo

http://www.lushusa.com/No-Drought/03589,en_US,pd.html?start=6&cgid=solid-shampoos

http://www.lush-shop.de/no-drought-trockenshampoo-115-g.3230.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isn’t that cute?!?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This product is meant to absorb some of the oil on second or third-day hair (depending on how oily your hair is) to give you an extra day before washing. It has corn flour and talc to “absorb the excess oil”, while “lemon, grapefruit and lime oils will give your hair a fresh and fruity fragrance too”.

 

Ingredients:

Corn Oil (Zea mays) , Magnesium Carbonate , Talc , Perfume , Grapefruit Oil (Citrus paradisi) , Lime Oil (Citrus aurantifolia) , *Citral , *Geraniol , *Limonene , *Linalool

 

I like this dry shampoo quite a bit, the powder does absorb oil pretty well and gives my hair some volume (sometimes I use it on clean hair just for that!). The smell is just… ahh, it is just fantabulous. It does smell as fresh as described, it smells very citrusy. Apparently the grapefruit scent is supposed to be the most prominent, but honestly I smell the lime much more strongly. Not that it matters much. Just as I am sitting here writing this post with the bottle in front of me, I have to stop every few sentences and smell this stuff. That is the level of amazingness that is contained in this 100% recycled plastic bottle. (On a side note, can we please just pause for a moment and consider how awesome Lush is? I have been pretty obsessed; I love watching their YouTube videos about the process their ingredients go through. Also I have discovered I have a special talent for sniffing out Lush shops. Literally. I was in Stratford-Upon-Avon, and I was standing on some street corner, and I smelt Lush. I asked, and the shop was maybe 500 meters away and was not even visible from where I was standing. Ahh, the smell of Lush stores. It never fails to make me smile, just smelling that gorgeous smell.)

Ok ok, I’m done waxing poetic about Lush. For now. Maybe. Anyway, as much as this product is amazing, it does have some qualities that could be improved on. First is the packaging. Now, I know aerosol cans aren’t the best for the environment and I appreciate that Lush was keeping that in mind when they were designing the packaging of this product. However, I think that not being able to spray the product really detracts from the effectiveness of the product. Ok, it’s not terrible, it’s still possible to get your hair relatively clean looking, but it is a lot harder to do and your hair still doesn’t end up looking as clean as using a traditional spray dry shampoo. The one advantage of the packaging (other than its environmentally-friendliness) is that you go through product a whole lot slower, and I do mean a whole lot, slower than a traditional dry shampoo.

Keeping in mind the effectiveness, I’m also not so happy that this product was so much more expensive than other dry shampoos that would have been maybe more effective. I mean, Batiste is also non-animal testing, and their 150 ml cans are prices at like 3 quid. That’s less than half price. Granted, you could conceivably go through two cans of Batiste per bottle of Lush, but the Batiste would still work better.

 

Overall:

I have kind of mixed feelings on this product. I like the product itself, and I love the scent and Lush, but I’m just not jazzed about the packaging. Would I buy it again? Unless they change the packaging, probably not for it’s dry shampoo qualities. On the volume and smell front, I would seriously consider it. It does work ok though, and Lush gets some serious kudos for their campaigning and their ethics. With some brands you can be pretty sure that they don’t test on animals, but you can’t really be certain. With Lush you get as close to a guarantee as you could possibly get, and I think that the security of Lush may lean me towards purchasing it again.

Rating: B

Leave a Reply

